Skip to main content

Fire Chief honors new AEMTs in Morgan County at County Commission Meeting

May 14, 2024 08:49AM ● By Verlene Johnson

Top row: Lou Smith Spenser Johnson Lisa Butifkofer. Bottom row: Chief Erik White, Kimberly Harrison, Hillari Wixom, Payton Farnsworth and Chief Boyd Carrigan. Not pictured: Gage Herrick. Courtesy photo

On Tuesday, May 7, Fire Chief Boyd Carrigan honored Deputy Chief of EMS Operations Erica White for the successful completion of the first-ever Advanced Emergency Medical Technician (AEMT) class at Fire House 121. “Your dedication and hard work in not only teaching but also navigating through the various challenges and logistics of organizing this class are truly commendable,” said Carrigan. “We deeply appreciate the countless hours you and your team have invested to make this a reality. Your commitment to advancing the skills and knowledge of emergency medical responders in our community is invaluable and sets a high standard for excellence in prehospital care.”

In addition to honoring White, the chief recognized her students, providing an opportunity for the community to acknowledge and celebrate these new AEMT’s hard work and dedication to the emergency medical services in Morgan County.

AEMTs, who have already completed over 100 hours of training to become EMTs, dedicated an additional 164 hours to enhance their EMS abilities. After completing the training, students had to pass an in-house test and a practical skills test before being recommended to take the national AEMT test. 

White also thanked their families for their sacrifice as these men and women dedicate their lives to keep the community safe and healthy. λ

Subscribe to the Morgan County News